Conference Bursaries

Housing Studies Association Annual Conference Bursary Scheme


With the continuing generous support of the Housing Studies Charitable Trust, the backing of our new strategic partner CaCHE, and direct funding from the Housing Studies Association, we are delighted once again to be able to offer a number of supported places at this year’s conference.

Applications are submitted by February each year and are assessed by a sub-committee of the HSA Executive Committee. Bursary applications for the 2018 annual conference are now closed.

In recent years the Association has increased the number of bursaries awarded. The increase in awards has reflected the strength of applicants and the Association’s commitment to supporting emerging researchers.  This year, this increase has been further boosted by additional funding from the Housing Studies Charitable Trust and CaCHE.  We are particularly grateful to these organisations as it allows us to continue to encourage the future generation of housing researchers to integrate themselves into, and push the boundaries of, the existing pool of expertise.

Each of the bursaries will cover the full cost of conference fees and up to £100 travel costs to attend the conference. Unsuccessful candidates may also be placed on a reserve list for any unused places.



The bursaries are intended to support individuals who would not otherwise be able to meet the fee and travel costs to attend the conference. This may include early career housing scholars, those without a current affiliation to a University or housing organization, or can demonstrate limited funding opportunities. Applicants must also be members of the HSA; please visit the membership section of the website here for more details on becoming a member.


The award of a bursary will be conditional upon the recipient:

  • Demonstrating that they require financial assistance to attend the conference
  • Attending the full conference and presenting a paper
  • Ensuring they can meet any additional travel costs associated with attending the conference and, if travelling from outside the EU, that they have the necessary visa and legal status to visit the UK.
  • Writing a summary of their paper as a blog item on the HSA website

Successful applicants will be required to accept these conditions prior to an award being made. Travel costs (up to a maximum of £100) will be reimbursed after the conference on the production of receipts.

Bursary recipients are encouraged to consider developing their conference paper into an article for submission to an academic peer-reviewed journal and HSA Executive Committee members offer support to do this.

Application Process

Applications for bursaries for the 2018 conference are now closed

Applicants will be required to complete an application form, which is available here:

Please send your completed applications to both Ben Pattison ( and Helen Taylor (

A panel of HSA Executive Committee members will review the applications and determine the successful recipients. Applicants will be informed of decisions as soon as possible.

Two of the bursaries are provided by the Housing Studies Charitable Trust. These bursaries are named after individuals who made an outstanding contribution to Housing Studies. The two applicants with the strongest applications receive the memorial bursaries.

The Housing Studies Association (HSA) is committed to maximising the inclusion of all housing scholars, practitioners and policy makers in its activities, including conference attendance and scholarship. Recognising the financial pressures increasingly facing many housing scholars; in 2011 the HSA and the Housing Studies Charitable Trust (HSCT) established a bursary scheme to support individuals to attend and present a paper at the annual HSA conference. The bursaries cover the full conference fees and a contribution towards travel costs. In addition to the bursaries, recipients are also offered support by HSA Executive Committee members to develop their conference paper into an article to be submitted to an academic journal. Several bursary recipients have subsequently had their papers successfully published in the Housing Studies journal

For further information about the bursaries, please e-mail Ben Pattison, who is a member of the Bursary committee for the Association:

David Manley, Chair of the HSA, said “I am delighted that once again we have been able to support scholars to attend our conference. In particular, our bursary scheme enables us to pursue our strong commitment to early career housing researchers. I also wish to thank the Housing Studies Charitable Trust for their continuing support of this initiative. I am delighted that our partnership with the Trust and the provision of these bursaries has continued for 2017 conferences. This year we will be using two of the bursaries to commemorate individuals who made an outstanding contribution to the Housing Studies community. They are Alan Holmans and Andy Williams.”

Previous Bursary Recipients


  • Adam Stephenson (Heriot-Watt University)
  • Chris Devany (Sheffield Hallam University)
  • Emma Ormerod (University of Durham)
  • Julia Heslop (University of Durham)
  • Matt Howell (Cardiff University)
  • Philippa Watkin (Heriot-Watt University)
  • Regina Serpa (Heriot-Watt University)

Two of the bursaries are provided by the Housing Studies Charitable Trust. These bursaries are named after individuals who made an outstanding contribution to Housing Studies. The two applicants with the strongest applications receive the memorial bursaries. This year the recipients were:

  • Jellina Davies (University of Kent)
  • Glenn Lauren Moore (SOAS, University of London)


  • Anna Zsófia Bajomi (unaffiliated)
  • Anna Carnegie (University of York)
  • Nicholas Lynch (University of Oxford)
  • Janine McKenna (Scottish Federation of Housing Associations)
  • Tim Packer (Heriot-Watt University)
  • Maria Laura Ruiu (unaffiliated)
  • Regina Serpa (Heriot-Watt University)
  • Adam Stephenson (Heriot-Watt University)
  • Mohammad Usman (University of Cambridge)


  • Amy Beckett (University of Sheffield)
  • Jennifer Hoolachan (University of Stirling)
  • Charles Jarvis (University of Manchester)
  • Nurhidayahti Binte Mohammad Miharja (University of Edinburgh)
  • Helen Taylor (Cardiff University)
  • Mark Tsun on Wong (University of Edinburgh)


  • Philip Child (University of Exeter)
  • Yingyu Feng (University of Bristol)
  • Chris Foye (University of Reading)
  • Elena Mattioli (University of Bologna)
  • Alasdair Stewart (University of Stirling)
  • Dianne Theakstone (University of Stirling)


  • Nicholas Choy (Kings College London)
  • Abigail Gilbert (University of Manchester)
  • Joanne Jones (University of York)
  • Dianne Theakstone (University of Stirling)
  • Matthew Thompson (University of Manchester)
  • Min Wang (University of Glasgow and RENMIN University of China, Beijing)


  • Joe Crawford (unaffiliated)
  • Rachel Danemann (University of Stirling/South Hams District Council)
  • Richard Dunning (University of Sheffield)
  • John Erskine (No institutional affiliation)
  • Zhan McIntyre (South Ayrshire Council)
  • Zhihua Zhou (East Asian Institute, University of Singapore)


  • Janis Bright (Sheffield Hallam University)
  • Patricia Campbell (University of Glasgow)
  • Pat Jones (unaffiliated)
  • Carol McKenzie (unaffiliated)
  • Martin Whiteford (unaffiliated)

1 comment for “Conference Bursaries

Comments are closed.