NEWS Four leading housing scholars conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

NEWS Four leading housing scholars conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

Professors Rebecca Tunstall (University of York), Glen Bramley (Heriot-Watt University), David Clapham (University of Reading) and David Robinson (University of Sheffield) have been conferred the award of Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences following nomination by the Housing Studies Association (HSA). This award recognises individuals’ contribution to the use of social science for public benefit.

In response to the announcement, Dr Beth Watts, Chair of the HSA said:

“I’m delighted that the Housing Studies Association has been able to successfully nominate these outstanding scholars as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences. They have each made significant and impactful contributions to housing studies and the wider social sciences. What stands out about these four candidates is the extent to which they have combined sustained scholarly contributions to housing studies with active engagement in policy, practice and media debates over several decades. I know I will speak for the Housing Studies Association executive committee and membership in congratulating them on this achievement.”  

Professor David Robinson commented:

“I am very grateful to the Housing Studies Association for nominating me to become a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.  It is a great honour to join the long list of eminent housing scholars who have been nominated as Fellows with the support of the HSA.  As a Fellow I will do everything I can to support the HSA’s efforts to ensure that housing studies remains at the heart of efforts to promote social science within the UK and maximise the important contribution to be made to wider society.  This is particularly important given the current challenges we are face in the UK and across the world ensuring people have access to decent, secure and affordable housing.”

As a learned society, the HSA is able to nominate candidates to become Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences on a regular basis. Previous Fellows nominated by the Association are:

  • Suzanne Fitzpatrick
  • Kenneth Gibb
  • Emeritus Prof. Malcolm Harrison
  • Keith Kirby
  • Duncan Maclennan
  • Chris Paris
  • Susan Smith
  • Mark Stephens
  • Christine M E Whitehead
  • Julia Unwin CBE FAcSS
  • John Flint

The HSA is pleased to support the recognition of its members’ via Fellowship nominations and welcomes suggestions of future nominees. The Academy of Social Sciences advise that:

“The paramount requirement for successful nomination is evidence of eminence and impact of the nominee’s contribution to social science. This contribution can be in any area, discipline or inter-disciplinary social science and can include research, teaching, professional practice, consultancy and the promotion and dissemination of social science knowledge.”

For more information see:

The HSA are keen nominate a diverse range of candidates, and therefore particularly welcome suggestions for nominees from professional/practice backgrounds, from Black and Minority Ethnic groups, who are women and/or who are Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual or Transgender.

If you would like to suggest candidates for nomination please contact Dr Beth Watts, Chair of the Housing Studies Association (